I’m Ready

I feel old. I’m only twenty. I’ve been twenty since August 19th. Yet somehow, I feel old. I think the word “old” usually has a negative connotation, but that’s not what I’m implying. I mean “old” simply as in I’ve lost track of pop culture. I don’t spend much time with middle schoolers and high schoolers, but when I do, I feel way out of the loop – and also none of those kids have facial hair. Anyway, I finally feel like I’m not on top of where society is going.

And I love it.

In JMC 461, we’ve learned all about platforming. We’ve listened to motivational speakers, some who were smart, some who were funny, and some who I thought were a waste of time. The point is, the class has been all about standing out, and I think I finally grasp that concept.

When you’re growing up, the term “standing out” usually applies to kids who are good in math or science or football or something very definite and finite. It’s usually based on an inherent skill, like an athletic aptitude or a fast reading pace. Now that I’m 20 years old, I understand that it’s not all about the skills that you’re born with.

It’s about what you do with those skills.

Somebody who creates a platform for being a write can obviously write a well-written book. Say your friend Jim writes a young adult fiction novel about elves and dragons and hobbits and other fictional creates who fall under that Lord of the Rings niche. If Jim writes his story, it could be the best story in the world. But maybe Jim doesn’t know where to get published at. Or what group of people to market to (like what bookstores do young adults shop at?). Jim might never be discovered – and maybe he’s happy with that. But maybe he’s not. Maybe Jim wants to be the most famous author in American young adult fiction history and doesn’t recognize that American youth are swinging away from Lord of the Rings type novels and more towards cyber-fantasy novels in an early 21st century teenage movement. Jen.jpg

http://www.shelfpleasure.com/love-why-i-love-young-adult-novels/

Platforming is about research and consistency. Once you find a market, you either learn how to stick with it, or you target or more productive one. Jim needs to know his market to be able to create successful content, and so do I.

My point is, I feel old. In a good way. I feel like I’ve finally fallen into a more stable market. I’m not a teenager anymore. I’m a young adult. I can drive (safely) and vote and buy cigarettes if I want. I can make choices that significantly impact the people around me. I can spend a night in jail. I can sign papers without my parent’s permission. I can take a loan or rent a hotel room on my own.

I can make a difference.

I’m old. But not in a bad way. I’m old enough to understand why markets shift and what generation I belong to and to know how to advocate my brand. I’m old enough to know how to be successful in a constantly shifting world.

And I’m ready.

Let’s go.

 

Leave a comment